PDP Rebel Governors

PDP Rebel Governors

At a meeting in Abuja, today, the seven PDP rebel governors has finally resolved to join the All Progressive Congress APC.

The decision was announced by the National Chairman of the New PDP, Alhaji Abubakar Baraje in Abuja few hours ago after a concluding a meeting with the New PDP Governors and APC chiefs with some former governors. Their decision to join the APC according to Alhaji Baraje was in order to rescue the country.

In his words, “to rescue our fledgling democracy and the nation”. Baraje said.

Some of the states which by this decision if it stands, would become PDP States are, Rivers State, Niger, Kano, Kwara, Sokoto states.

The people who attended the meeting are, Former governors, Bukola Saraki, Timipre Sylva and Abdullahi Adamu of Nasarawa states, Chief Bisi Akande, General Buhari, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, all the rebel governors were present except the governors of Sokoto state and Jigawa state who Alhaji Abubakar Baraje said were part and parcel of the decision.

Speaing to journalists on the outcome of the meeting, Tinubu said, ‘What has happened today is significant for our country. What is important is not the numerical strength but the character and commitment of people committed to change”.

Party members fear that this might be a big blow to the ruling parties success in the 2015 general elections.

Article by Humphrey Ugwuoba

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>